30 Aug Uber Makes U-Turn on Post-Trip Tracking Feature
Reuters reports that Uber has decided to drop a feature that collects user location data after the trip has ended.
Joe Sullivan, Uber’s chief security officer, confirmed that the app will be updated this week and users will be able to share their location information only when using the app.
Uber has been blasted for introducing a feature that “forced” constant tracking on its users, which was magnified in light of recent privacy-related scandals involving employees stalking celebrities and ex-girlfriends, and the abuse of a tracking tool.
A spokesperson for the company said that the move was not made in relation to the FTC investigation, but rather as a response to feedback from their users.